Bye bye Brentford

Boat blog: Bright’N’Breezy Tales

Set for navigation 6.45pm / Moored up by 8.30pm

Brentford to Hanwell. Two locks – luckily J spotted an obstacle floating in the first lock before it drained to level with the lower part of the canal. It was a small bridge with an arc the same height as us if not bigger. There were a few chunky logs along the second lock too. The size of a young Plain’s trunk seems enough to jam gates.

The duckweed wasn’t too thick but was the densest we had ever navigated through.

I’ve learnt that in life there will always be unexpected circumstances crossing your path and when times aren’t sailing smoothly, you adjust and hope the odds are in your favour.

I almost forgot to mention, as we drove out of Clitheroes lock, J picked bundles of ripe sloe branches which I have now steeped with gin!

It’s been a while since my last regular blog post. I’m back, I want to say for now but what I really mean is I hope to stay.

Two years ago in the peak of summer; August 2016 [last post, “Half measures in love, for life”] a series of fortunate events unfolded in my life. A catalyst of moments that has become happy memories that will be cherished forever. If you continue to read ahead, I will share how a pair of years has inspired me to fulfil more meaningful events ahead.

🗺✈️🧩

My time in London was only meant to be a 2 year experience so when I continued my festival-binge and went to Boomtown for the second time in Winchester, there I would encounter J (for the third time!) and from that moment, little did I know, we would both indulge in becoming inseparable.

I remember that London summer of 2016 being incredible; good days, adventures and conversations were (and still are) endless. Both being fond of enjoying outdoor activities we travelled for moonlight camping at Southminster fishing lakes and joined a sea-fishing charter from Poole, our eyes searched for fossils as Lyme Regis and from Weymouth, we drove out to Portland Bill Lighthouse.

Within those few short months, the colder season was upon us and by then we were living together. It was at this time though where the support we had for one another was clear as day and night, the flat we occupied was in turmoil and we created grounding in Hertford, North of London.

I fly back to NZ, on my own, and celebrate my mum’s birthday as well as catching up with familiar faces that my heart has yearned for over the year of displacement.

If I had a crystal ball then, I would’ve known that I will return for more visits home with J.

Attempting to squeeze fresh history in one post is easier said than done and feels less momentous too so I will post once each month; capturing moments along the journey of our narrowboat navigation, my serendipity and sharing extracts from personal projects that supports my wellbeing. I hope the feeling of being inspired, to aspire is contagious.

Published by sereneydipity

Ramblings of a hopeless romantic who finds magic in the simple things; like the smell of flowers, the feel of waves, the sound of drum & bass, the taste of ice cream and that spin you get when you go round and round.

Leave a comment